What Cameron Frye & Rex Ryan Have In Common

Over the weekend, Rex Ryan had lap band surgery so he could win his battle of the bulge. The Jets coach who famously bragged months ago that his daily in take was well over 7,000 calories – will have a band placed to shrink his stomach and help him control his eating habits.

I have to commend him, it’s not an easy operation to go through. A lot of people out there consider it taking the easy way out, but it’s really not. You need to immediately change the way you live your life and it can take a toll on you mentally. Like most of the population out there,  a lot people find comfort in food when they’re stressed or upset. But after weight loss surgery you have to finf another way to deal with life’s issues and if you’re volume eater, you need to remind yourself that you can’t eat as much as you once did. Nothing about this procedure or any weight loss surgery is easy. I should know, I’m getting ready to have it myself.Yes, I said it. I, Cameron Frye, am fat and having weight loss surgery. Much like Rex, I’ve done the fad diets, my weight has fluctuated over the years and you just come to the point where you have to admit it’s beyond your control and you need help. I’m too young to be like this and I’ll be damned if I have a Kevin Smith awkward moment on a plane. So yeah, in 12 days, I’ll have a change purse belly.

I sure some people think I’m going a little crazy or worry if I’m making the right decision, but this is something I’ve wanted for a while and it’s not like I just woke up and said, “I want my to completely get rid of my stomach and have a piece of my intestine removed. I wonder if I can do that today?” It’s been almost a year-long process and I was embarrassed telling people at first, but fuck it. Why should I be? Ok, I’m fat & I’m having surgery to fix the problem. So there are so many other things people could mock me for and probably do – so why should I care?

But I do. Like I said before, you need to emotionally & mentally prepare yourself and its the worst part of the process. I had to see a shrink for a while – that was abysmal. Not because the shrink was awful, but having it’s admit why you do crap and figure out a way to get you to stop doing it. But I understand why they do it, I mean, they need to make sure you’re doing it for the right reasons. Of course my health is my top priority, but I won’t lie – cute clothes and actually having confidence about my appearance and around people(without the help of booze) is an added bonus.

Yes, I have no confidence. Not that you didn’t know that already. Believe me that girl who some of you saw flying into the bar after the Winter Classic and was Suzy Social is a fraud. That side of me NEVER comes out. I’m usually sitting in the corner, not speaking and hoping no one notices me. God, I sound like such a emo fruit – please smack me upside the head. Anyways! I’m not blind, I’m know I’m being judged constantly – especially on my appearance. Hell, I do it. You don’t think I thank my lucky stars that I DON’T look like Precious. *shudders* I know for a fact my weight has been holding me back personally & professionally and it’s about time I do something about it.

So yeah, I’ll be out of commission for a couple days , in the hospital for 4 or so and out of work for almost 6 weeks – but I’ll have my computer and I’m sure the drugged up tweets will be worth reading. You think I’m a bitch now, wait ’till I can’t ear. Consider yourself warned.

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What Cameron Frye & Rex Ryan Have In Common

  1. Fang's Bites March 18, 2010 at 4:38 am Reply

    Best of luck, Cameron. I know it’s not easy. Just know you’ve got a blogging friend in RI. You’re the best. You always have been.

  2. Di March 25, 2010 at 5:18 pm Reply

    Good luck! I hope it goes well and that you have a speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

