It’s been a summer…so far

So how has your summer vacation been?

And how has your summer vacation been?

So we’re at the half way point for summer and while some of you dealt with heat waves, trips to the beach and traveling to different destinations. I’ve been stuck in Boston working and doing very little writing. And since I have the honor of  being the low man on the totem pole at my ‘real’ job – my vacation isn’t until October. I still don’t know where to go, so recommendation are welcomed. Anyways! Please accept my apology and since the summer is almost over(sorry to be so ‘glass is half empty’.), here’s my Summer of 2009 Half-Way Point Post. WHOOOOOO! Enjoy

You're going to stay in Boston, right?

You're going to stay in Boston, right?

I guess you can say it’s been a moderately eventful summer for everyone except me. The Bruins are sticking with the youth (well, not counting the resigning of Mark Recchi) and resigned Byron Bitz, David Krejci & recently Matt Hunwick. Now all we have to do is sit and wait to see if the B’s resign Phil Kessel or if they do ship him off to Toronto or God knows where. I know there’s been a lot of talk about whether he’s worth it or not. Honestly? I think the Bruins should re-sign him. I know last season was a contract year and he was basically playing for a job. But he performed and he produced, so why not invest in him? Kessel led the team with 36 goals, had 24 assists and let’s not forget his successful playoff run with 6 goals and 5 points. Not bad for a kid who rode the pine during the ‘07/’08 playoffs and scored 19 goals that season. Plus, I’d like to think the fact he didn’t skip town after surgery, is a good sign he’ll be sticking around for a little bit longer. But what do I know?

Newest member of the Red Sox Pirate Band...

Newest member of the Red Sox Pirate Band...

Oh yeah, The Winter Classic or World Classic, according to Mayor Tom Menino, is coming to Fenway Park. It’s going to be amazing, but I won’t be there. Well, unless I can scrape together enough cash(I’ll be working on the corner of Beacon & Tremont *ahem* if you need a ‘date’) or sell a kidney for a ticket or be lucky enough to get a press pass – I doubt I’ll be there. Which in a word, sucks and I’ll be completely honest, ruins it for me. Am I being selfish? Of course. Do I care? No. My blog, my thoughts, so there.

Grandpa isn't happy with this performance....

Grandpa isn't happy with this performance....

The usual June Swoon has turned into the July Crash & Burn for the Red Sox. The bats are dead, the arms are dead – but at least we don’t have Manny issues to deal with. Wheee! *Fart Noise* The Sox are stinking it up in second place and the majority of Red Sox Nation seems to be getting ready to press the panic button. But it’s not like the Sox don’t do this every year? They hit a couple speed bumps and few weeks later, they’re back in first and winning. Unless everything goes to complete crap and the wheels come flying off, like they did in 2006, I really don’t think there’s anything to worry about. It’s just a bump in the road and it could be a lot worse. I don’t know, I really shouldn’t talk about the Sox this year. I’m not as invested in the Sox as I use to be. Which I hate to say, but they just don’t feel like my team anymore. I’m an only child, I don’t like to share.

But there is one thing Red Sox fans can be happy about; Julio Lugo is G-O-N-E. Theo’s shinning star is now St. Louis’s problem and I think Theo should apologize for the Lugo Era(ok, so he wasn’t as embarrassing as Tom Yawkey was – but Lugo was still pretty bad. ) or at least give up some of his pay to make up for what the team lost on that loser. Ughh. I will never understand the hard-on Theo had for Julio and let’s be honest? This is just more reason why they should have signed Orlando Cabrera when they had the chance.

Erin Andrews

Erin Andrews

Moving on! Erin Andrews. I think whoever taped her, is a scumbag and should do time. It’s disgusting and I think periodicals, like The New York Post and anyone else who posted stills from the video or the video itself – are just classless pigs. I wouldn’t wish what happened to her on my worst enemy and there’s a few of you out there. I mean, how would you like it if that was your mother or sister or girlfriend that was being plastered all over the internet like that? Or are you that stupid to comprehend the severity of it all?  I admit, I’ve done some asshole things in my day, but I’d like to know where to draw the line. Hell, I felt bad posting certain pictures of a certain former BU hockey player and I took them down. Well, only after he asked nicely. But this is crazy. Take the pictures down. One more thing and I’m sure it’s not the most popular thing to say, but if Erin Andrews was some frumpy, overweight girl – I really don’t think there would be as much of public outcry. It’s the power of the pretty girl. And yes, I’m bitter & jealous. She’s got a kickass body and a kickass job. All I have is fat boobs and a crappy, but decent paying job. Jealousy could also be behind Christine Brennan’s comment about the incident:

“I wish it didn’t happen to Erin, but I also would suggest to her if she asked (and she hasn’t) that she rely on her talent and brains and not succumb to the lowest common denominator in sports media by playing to the frat house.”

No, that wasn’t bitchy or uncalled for at all. Way to get all Sarah Palin on us. Christine’s bitter because she jogs around her neighborhood in the nude and it causes people to go blind and flowers die. Unlike when Erin does and a miracle is granted with every footstep. True story.

What else? Rasheed Wallace is on the Celtics. Because that’s what the team needs, another old guy. I know he’s good and should be a good fit. But, shouldn’t they be getting younger and not older? Are they going to be pulling Jim Loscutoff and Cedric Maxwell out of retirement next? Actually, that be might mildly amusing. Let’s so who can last the longest without breaking a hip! I will say this, I’ll be pissed if Big Baby Davis leaves Boston and from the sound of some of his tweets, he’d be bummed too. Honestly, he’s the only reason I really follow the Celtics. How could you not love this man?

You know you want it....
You know you want it….

And finally, the best news this summer, second only to the announcement that Hollywood Intuition is doing a line of bags for Target, is this:

He's a Gator, I'm a Gator - just saying....haha

He's a Gator, I'm a Gator - just saying....

Ok, I’m kidding. Not really. Yes, I am. I will say this; I really want to hate Tim Tebow. He just seems like he has that good ol’boy meets dumb jock mentality and would stand for everything I hate in the world. But he’s so gosh darn adorable. It’s the power of being pretty. *sigh*

There’s probably a ton I’ve missed but, it’s a start. Well, I’m go back to reading the new Ben Mezrich book and eat another less than stellar lunch.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “It’s been a summer…so far

  1. Matt O'Donnell July 23, 2009 at 8:55 pm Reply

    “Park’s closed, moose out front should have told you.”

    You can’t beat Yosemite in October, no crowds….wait, it will be in October, there is baseball to watch so wait to see where the Sox will be playing and go there.

  2. wraparoundcurl July 23, 2009 at 10:32 pm Reply

    It’s probably better watching the Winter Classic on tv. You won’t freeze and you can get plastered and scream at the tv.

Leave a Reply

